Crowd Wise 10: What to read next

Diversity and independence are important because the best collective decisions are 
the product of disagreement and contest, 
not consensus or compromise.
James Surowiecki



Where can we find research and more information about working in e-communities?  Are there any courses you can take online or in person? 

Have you read a great book or can you recommend a helpful website or ebook helpful to those new at creating e-communities?

Best,
Karenne

This posting is the final part of the series, Crowd Wise, and is, in part, preparation for the swap-shop on web based communities at the IATEFL conference in Harrogate, April 8th, 2010.  Your answers, as brief or as in-depth as you'd like to be, is very much appreciated!  To subscribe to all the posts within this specific series, copy and paste this url:  http://kalinago.blogspot.com/feeds/posts/default/-/crowd-wise  into your reader.  

Note: if you would like to participate in this conversation anonymously, please do feel free to do so.  Alternatively, if you would like to specifically mention an online educational community when making reference to your experiences, adding your group's name and/or its URL, you are most welcome to!

3 Responses to “Crowd Wise 10: What to read next”

  • Darren says:
    April 01, 2010

    I've been collecting bits and pieces on this for a while. You can check my bookmarks at diigo http://www.diigo.com/list/darrenrelliott/personal-learning-networks

    I recommend Warlick, Seimens and Downes particularly. I'm kind of assuming that ecommunities, PLNs and communities of practice are roughly the same thing....

  • natashaBBC says:
    April 01, 2010

    Karenne

    I just love the quote by James Surowiecki you started this thread with. My God, I so hate the Yes-people nodding to each and everybody. :(

    Natasha
    Belgrade, Serbia

  • Tara says:
    April 01, 2010

    I too love this quote! It truly applies to the debate we are having with our members on MyEC this week about offering an automated spellcheck. There are so many great opinions about the issue. You might want to check it out as it applies to your series. It's awesome that we can get feedback from members so quickly on the Ning platform.

    Sorry, I don't know of a book on e-communities. Let's write one! BTW-Inbound Marketing is a great book about social media that I read recently.

 

Visitors and Regular Readers

Facebook

FEEDJIT Live Traffic Feed

Communities of Practice

Blog Archive

Directories, catalogs and Back Links

Adult Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory Add to Technorati Favorites



The EFL ESL Blog List TotalESL.com - ESL/EFL/TEFL Teaching Jobs and Teacher Resumes

Search This Blog

Loading...

FEATURED BLOGGERS

My personal list of blogs about teaching or learning English.

Technology & more

International Blogging Directory

Recent Posts

Simply Conversations

Pedagogically sound materials designed to get your students actively talking:

Free Samples
Conversation Control

Shop
General English
Business English
ESP



Learn more on why these work